WCGTC Presidential Election

Angsty Horse-PhotoqouteWC

copyright held by Artist Leslie S. Graves

The WCGTC Presidents Election- 2013- Leslie S. Graves (that’s me!)

As many of you know,  In August 2013, the 20thWorld Conference will take place. It is a special year in many respects, not the least of which is the coming election for/of a new President for the next/following four years.     It is my pleasure to announce that  my name has been put forward, –  as a candidate that is now in the running for President of the World Council for Gifted and Talented Children.

My agenda for the next 4 years would be to simply build on the seeds & foundations that have been put down in Kentucky, helping the roots, and the shoots to grow into a strong  young sapling.  I have many ideas and wishes for the organisation, probably to many to put down here.   However, here is a short  list of my vision on what direction  I would like to see  the  WCGTC  move in, would include:

  • Help consolidate and expand any positive activities and initiatives- fostering and supporting gifted, talented  and creative children and youth
  • Encourage more collaboration, community and sharing of important information, research,  best teaching practices , alternative and innovative methodologies &/or technologies
  • To seek out under-represented communities,   such as 2E children and disadvantaged populations, offering assistance.
  • To build bridges between different cultures – listen to their voices,  find ways in which access to information and or resources could be facilitated in diverse environments/countries.
  • To be  aware/sensitive to  families/parents  voices.  Introduce a parent liaison.
  • To consider the possibility of producing some WC lead resources on topics for members or others  to access such as either e booklets/tip sheet/webinars/  videos in a number of languages to assist access to information.
  • To continue to support  on- going development of the GTI Journal, and it’s wide international readership.

These are just a number of my thoughts.  If you are a delegate,  and if you like what you have  read so far, I would be most honoured to have your vote.  If you are a member or another  interested party in contact with a delegate, perhaps you  would urge them to vote in my favour.

I have served the WC in many capacities, and fulfilled the duties of a delegate for many years, having sat on the EC for the last 6 years after that.  As an EC member I served the office of  Secretary, on several subcommittees, wrote the policies and procedures for the Scholarship and Awards subcommittee,  helped to organise the International Day/Week of the Gifted producing a slideshare and co-running a very successful blogtour.  I have encouraged new membership, retaining good relations with many in the gifted communities worldwide.  I have attended, helped out at, and contributed/presented papers at four World Conferences, and will do so again at a fifth one (in Kentucky) shortly.  I also donated a piece of my own original art work for auction, with proceeds going to the scholarship fund, with a portion of the sales of any limited edition prints of same, also going to the scholarship fund. Currently I am International Coordinator for the 2013 International Year of Giftedness and Creativity.

I Come from a multinational and former teaching (ESL) background.,  My Gifted Education experience has come through many courses  completed,  and involvement in third level for the last 8 years , as the gifted input Lecturer on Post Grad SEN teachers courses at UCD, in Ireland. I  have mentored numerous grad students in the area of gifted, and been  awarded an International Templeton Award from the Belin Blank Centre for Excellence in Education- Uni. of Iowa.  All this leaves  me a good amount of  experience which will be beneficial to the WC.  My background supporting parents and advocacy comes from working for many years with the (now dissolved) National Irish association for gifted children  (IAGC- including acting Chairperson) as well  as being  a parent  with pg and 2E kids. I have worked with parents, teachers, schools and children in the pursuit of best fit options.  All this experience should also be  beneficial to the WC.

I have worked at government advisor level as a commissioned writer on the National Guide lines for Teachers of Students with Exceptional  Ability for the NCCA, and as a SME for the NCTE.   I have also worked with many newer technology driven platforms including having been involved with work on a pilot program in rural schools bringing an innovative program for providing for potential over a virtual platform...

I would hope that this diverse, and broad range of experience, from an International, National, Educational, Parental  and Child Advocacy perspective, coupled with my  own Artistic/creative and innovative nature and capabilities would be conducive to harnessing,  supporting  and strengthening the potential  of the WCGTC.  This would be my wish as it’s new President.

I know that it won’t be easy, nor do I make any promises that I won’t make mistakes, which being human, I probably will.  However, I would like to feel that I could contribute to the creation of a space, in which that sapling,  this new, young WCGTC, with hopefully many more years to grow,  will continue to spread  it’s branches and become a strong oak  tree.  Hopefully it will continue to shelter many of the worlds gifted children under the shadows of its bows.

I would welcome your vote.

Leslie S. Graves

EC WC member

[

  1. Mona
    January 26, 2013 at 9:43+09:30

    So excited that you are running! I echo your vision and wish you all the best in the election (and in life)! ❤

    • January 26, 2013 at 9:43+09:30

      thanks Mona.. took me a while tobe brave enough to post it.. teehee but its done now…. we are off and running.. teehee

  2. January 26, 2013 at 9:43+09:30

    I’m delighted to hear of and support your candidacy, Leslie! You’ve already proven yourself an enormous asset to WCGTC and bring both vision and outstanding leadership skills to the table. I’m at your service if there’s anything I can do to help!

    • February 4, 2013 at 9:43+09:30

      Rebecca, thank you so much, and sorry for taking so long to answer your comment… I have no idea why, but it ended up in the spam folder, where it has been duly retrieved from and answered…. I truely truely appreciate your support, and encouraging words, and careful, will keep you and others in mind when services are/maybe required… teehee… ;-D.

  3. January 27, 2013 at 9:43+09:30

    Pleased to be a part of the process and ardent supporter. I believe your vast amount of experience in the gifted community will be perfectly matched to the current needs of the World Council at this time in its history.

    • February 3, 2013 at 9:43+09:30

      So appreciative of your support… L

  4. January 27, 2013 at 9:43+09:30

    Your gracious support and belief is much appreciated ljconrad, and look forward to continuing to work alongside advocates such as yourself. Strength… and will continue to do so regardless of the election outcome.

  5. February 19, 2013 at 9:43+09:30

    I belive that your experience with the gifted and talented children will be very convenience for WCGTC. i wish you the best in the election. Fanny Alencastro (Quito Ecuador)

    • February 19, 2013 at 9:43+09:30

      Thank you so much Fanny, I really appreciate your vote of confidence, and will try my best if I am successful. Les

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment