On Giftedness and a close encounter with (mis) fortune….

On Giftedness and a chance encounter with (mis) fortune….

Very recently, I have been struggling with some news, the which may be about to seriously change the reality which is my life as I know it… thoughts on same come in shivering shaking waves, engulfing the very nucleous of my soul… and leaving me often, gasping for breath, as I endlessly search the caverns of my mind for direction…

In this state of mind, this morning, I had to take a train ride into town, to deliver an item for a friend, and the walk to the station, in the rain, under the dark, grey brooding skys only served to deepen the sense of dispare and hopelessness I had going…

A platform, glistening, reflecting the mirror of my soul, the green overhanging bushes weeping as droplets hurried, sliding zigzagedly down a multitude of leaves…  The rumble of the carriages as they entered the station, brought me back to my task, and I stepped on board…. and moved up the carriage looking for a place to sit..

Just at the end there was a seat, facing another in which a young man was sitting and holding his head in his hands.. I sat down, but watching this fellow, took me away from my own minds interdialogue, and into anothers reality… He was young, true,.. but thin, and rather shabily dressed.. pale, with haunting brown eyes.. and he was shivering/shaking in pain.  Feeling his discomfort (I’m a bit of an emphatic.. ) I could not help but reach out and ask him… ‘excuse me are you ok?….’   He explained that he had a tooth ache, and was on his way to the dental hospital,…  where sometimes it is possible to get work done if your wallet is a little bare…

As his pain receded, explaining that it came and went,  he thanked me for asking in a quiet way… I asked him what he was to have done, and a chance conversation ensued…

He recounted that he had a tooth that needed a root canal, that the dentist he had gone to in a town south of where I live, had suggested he have it pulled (as he could have this done for free), there and then, but  he had not wanted to loose his tooth.  The alternative treatment, a root canal would have cost him 500 to have done, an amount that was well beyond him.   He told me that he was homeless, and working off a ‘medical card’.. something that gave him a right to have his teeth pulled for free, but no help or discount for any other treatment.  That is niether here nor there, but the interesting story he told was the reason he had wanted to go to the Dental Hospital (students studying dentistry work here, hence the lower cost of treatment)…

He told me he had been taken there often as a child as there had been something unusual about his teeth that was of great interest to the college and this had been his favorite thing to do, visit with the students and dentists working there… He then proceeded to tell me… all about unusual teeth and bites, solutions and proceedures for same.. and how dental care is viewed differently in this country than in other countries (people often wait until things are very far along before they visit a dentist),  that folk from the USA (where folk take a great deal of careful care of their teeth) are sometimes taken aback by the lower importance of this in Europe and the resultant aspects thereoff…  He then mov,ed on to doctors, and what he felt was a clinical attitude towards their regard for life that was not human.  He felt that they did not see other species, such as dogs, as life that was as important as people and that this bothered him alot…  I focused…  here was a spark…

As he got off at the station before my own, put out a hand… asked me for my name…… gave me his own… and  thanked me for listening to him…   I could not think but… this young fellow, who had such alot to say… wanted to be heard.. but was so economically challenged, might have made a good dentist, a good listener..

I wished with all my heart that life would take a turn in an upward direction for this young man, as without a doubt, I would know he had ‘the look’  was one of those gifted kids that had had the potential and passion but not the opportunity to make it happen..Had he had the ‘chance’ opportunities, or mentors to help him be who he had wanted to ‘be’…. fallen through the cracks…

A snapshot… Of a life ……..and  putting  my own challenges in perspective…  wishing this young man a bit of  luck in this  zigzaggy world we live in… I do….  hope life does open a window….  for both of us… someday… ;-D…

As I think about contributing to the NZ blogtour… I ask we do not forget about those that may be left in the cracks.. they may yet have something to teach us …

  1. June 23, 2012 at 9:43p

    Yes, yes–feeling for you and him, so glad the connection was made and we get to consider the point through your writing. Important to feel this, and then figure out how to be sure as few fall between the cracks as possible.

    • June 23, 2012 at 9:43p

      Thank you Stef, I do worry alot about folk like that… especially in the economic climate we are in here, so so very very easy to loose everything in the blink of an eye…

  2. Cheri
    June 24, 2012 at 9:43p

    I have been so moved by stories such as this, that I volunteer at a school.

    • June 24, 2012 at 9:43p

      Thank you Cheri… and volunteering is a very honorable thing to do… I’m glad you liked it.. Thanks for commenting.. ;-D

  3. Rainer (Ugo 1st)
    June 30, 2012 at 9:43p

    There, but for the grace of God go I. Those without a voice also ahave a story to tell that all of us need to hear.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

