Giftedness and interested in…..

Dodecahedron

This shape is based on twelve 5-sided units like a dodecahedron. But they bump out, so the form is more like a small stellated dodecahedron. This was designed by Norah Gaughan, who provides instructions in this Berroco pattern, from a link found on the Math Mondays site. (This image of her work, comes from from a wonderful blog site called Math Mondays by George Hart for the mathematics Museum , click on this image to explore that site, the caption on the site also gives details and credit to the creator of the image found above and a link to the pattern as well)

‘Gifted and Interested… in ….’

Often, and in reality, it can be difficult to find the time to provide full on programs for gifted kids both in the classroom or at home, as life and things just seem to get the better of us, or time…. that elusive and precious element.. time… just seems to be lacking..  when this happens, it is important to keep in mind that the most important of all things is to keep a student interested, and to avoid disengagement if at all possible..  In my experience one way of doing this is to try and identify interests and then feed those interests, even in small doses, through the subjects you are needing to teach.. a few unusual attention grabbing links can go a long way to keep a few sparks alive.. and that in a nutshell is the whole point I would think.  Picture and Arty or Home Ec student taking part in a Math crochet or knitting project.. hmmm

Many of you are aware that I have not written for a while, some of you know the reasons why.  I would say that mostly it is because my energies  have been needed elsewhere, and necesitated putting my blog on a shelf for a bit.  However, my readers are important to me, and  It enjoy their contact and sharing helpful info.  So I have thought that maybe it might be fun to write a series of posts, on specific subjects related to my livebinder collections, that might be useful to folks who are working with Gifted or Exceptionally Able students (or may be gifted themselves) and could be looking for resources or added interest in a particular area….

As I have a gazillion Livebinders on a wide and broad range of subjects, there should be something which will be of use to folks over the next while… please let me know if you enjoy any of the choices I offer for your enjoyment, and also, if there is a subject, that you would like to see a collection of , that you would think might be useful to many, please also let me know.. I will do my best to put together a collection for you and others to share..  Stay tuned in Mondays… first Post in this series will be:

Gifted and interested..in… MATH

Hoping it will be enjoyable and that you find some treasures to keep the spark alive.. ;-D

  1. April 23, 2012 at 9:43p

    Whoa! Your Livebinder in incredible … I could spend a year just going through all the links! It is a wonderful resource for any teacher. It reflects a lot of time and effort on your part to provide ‘quality’ links. Thank you!
    I look forward to your next post, Les!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

