On Giftedness and Being Stuck…

Ever have days/weeks or other times where you have an important thing(s) to do or address and  just seem to be stuck.. not being able to move either forward or backward and just nothing gets done?  I think it may have something to do with a combination between perfectionism and imposter syndrome.  Whatever it is, it’s not a nice feeling, and leaves one drained, stressed out and feeling guilty.. and no good…

At this moment I have great empathy for our gifted students (my own at times included) who agonise over a blank sheet of paper which may be due in the morning… getting past the starting hurdle, out the gate, is not always easy for some of us.. or as a teacher long ago described me.. in frustration…. “Your like one of those Ketchup bottles… piling so many ideas and good stuff up inside that the neck is just too narrow to let them all out on paper… ,   banging on the bottom of it to get some of it out doesn’t always work….sometimes you need let go of a little fear,  shake it up, let a little air in, order to let it flow easier.. ”

Hmm..  Well, recently this has been happening to me again, so taking a breath and shaking those ideas around,  I am hoping that maybe if I try to write something on my blog every day, perhaps I shall loosen up enought to get on with what I need to do…   This small post does not merit much attention on it’s own, however, it is a start for me and one step forward instead of back… let’s see where it might lead… hmm  indeed… teehee;-D

  1. November 2, 2011 at 9:43p

    I know EXACTLY what you mean, Les! Suffocating, claustrophobic, … I will look forward to your posts as you ‘unstick’ yourself!🙂

  2. November 2, 2011 at 9:43p

    Wow. You read my mind today. This week I am Ketchup. For sure.

  3. January 9, 2012 at 9:43p

    Leslie, I may be slow in coming to this post and have seen your creativity since – over the last couple of months. I understand. I was at a stand still this weekend – knowing full well I had a full plate and needed to get on with writing on that blank page. I took the time and did some backwards flow charting as I have an target date for certain activities. By writing down what needed to be done in flow chart/mind map style I was able to free up the energy necessary to move into the creativity mode and begin. This evening I look back at the day and know I accomplished moving forward (and yet with perfectionism sneaking in- yes, but you know you could have gotten more done and better). – I take a deep breath prepare for some fun reading – change in activities and now tomorrow is another day for the ongoing adventure of life. Thank you for being a marvelous “heroine” to follow. Exchange of pixie dust.

    • January 9, 2012 at 9:43p

      Thank you for comenting Edith… It made my morning… to be honest I have been a little low on energy these days, due to a number of peripheral factors, but am hoping to kick start myself at some point here once the new year gets moving… a flow chart is a good idea.. I’ve attempted lists the last few days which have been maginally successful…. however a backwards flow chart is interesting… hmmm…. Will look into that….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

