On Giftedness, School and a Disquieting Feeling

On Giftedness, School and a Disquieting Feeling

‘ Ever and Never’

by Me! (Leslie Graves)

I see a light

a bright warm light

and drawn like the moth

I fly near

I like the way

it flickers, colours sway

However, I must be wary

Lest the fire

burns bright

Brings instead more pain

Than ever and never knowledge gained

  1. Mona
    September 21, 2011 at 9:43p

    So lovely… thank you for sharing.

  2. September 21, 2011 at 9:43p

    It IS a fine line, isn’t it?
    I love this.

    • September 21, 2011 at 9:43p

      Yup, it certainly can be a very fine line.. ;-D.. thanks for ‘getting it’… ;-D

  3. September 21, 2011 at 9:43p

    Thank you for reading it Mona…. it was a small little musing, but wanted to be posted, so there it was… ;-D

  4. September 21, 2011 at 9:43p

    I’m thinking metaphor. If you feel your temperature rising, it’s time to back off! Hopefully, you’ll be warmed by the glow of the flame without mishap.😉

    • September 21, 2011 at 9:43p

      Ya Lisa it could be interpreted that way too..;-D…Thats whats nice about poetry..;-D

  5. September 21, 2011 at 9:43p

    Thanks for sharing your writing, Les. You describe what we and our kids experience so well. Art does this in such a profound way.

    • September 21, 2011 at 9:43p

      Thanks Lisa.. I love Art… it taps into our souls… ;-D.. I’m honoured that you describe my scratchings as Art.. coming from you, all the more.. thanks my friend

  6. September 21, 2011 at 9:43p

    Lovely, Leslie. That’s a poignant and sad reminder of how our little ones often begin their school careers — charging toward the light of knowledge, only to find it isn’t what they expect or need.

    • September 21, 2011 at 9:43p

      You got it on the nail Lisa… It’s a good feeling to be understood.. and wow.. see three comments from three Lisa’s… how neat!!! Lisa is a good name in my book!!

  7. September 23, 2011 at 9:43p

    It made me feel queasy in the stomach. We have just had a government Inquiry into G&T Education in schools and we all worked so hard to present our ideas, experiences and suggestions but….. My long experience and your poem came together like a lead bullet. Ouch! Hope diminished!

  8. September 23, 2011 at 9:43p

    oH Pat, I am so sorry… I know how hard it is to have put so much effort into these things… I have had my fair share of attempts over the years as well and know that sinking feeling. If my poem came at a wrong time for you, making you feel terribly discouraged, it saddens me. I hope with all my heart that your efforts bare fruit. And will be sending copious amounts of Irish Fairy Luck Dust in your direction. As a Poem, that it had a powerful effect is a good thing, as all art should do.. however I would urge you not to loose to much hope, as every effort such as yours does indeed make a differnce, and often not one we can always see or measure, in bringing people together and raising awareness of issues around these kids. Because of you push there will be some who will take this on board and some child or children will benefit from it… even if the powers that be are reluctant to take things on board as a whole. Worse not to make the efforts, as without continually shouting ‘We who’s are here!!!’ it would be and is very very easy for them to dismiss and pretend they don’t exist or need support. So for that reason in itself, what you are doing is increadabley vital, important and essential work to do.. I so admire you and the rest of the folk who put so much energy into the Inquiry.. You are heros… part of the warmth and glow part, and not the burn.. ;-D Strength.. Les

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

